57s season on the line tonight

The Swift Current 57s season is on the line tonight when they host the visiting Moose Jaw Miller Express in Western Canadian Baseball League playoff action.

Moose Jaw scored a dominant 9-2 win over the 57s during game one of the best-of-three East Division semi-final playoff series at Ross Well Park in Moose Jaw on Monday night.

The host Miller Express jumped into a 4-0 lead after four innings on six hits while Swift Current collected just three hits in a slow offensive start to the game. Moose Jaw put the game out of reach with a pair of runs in the seventh and three more runs in the eighth on a home run from Cam Grant.

The 57s scored their only runs of the game in the top of the fifth with runs from Justin Barnes and Cory Bonstrom. On the game Swift Current managed nine hits and left 11 runners on base while striking out 15 times.

Kenny Jinks was given the ball on the mound for Swift Current in game one. During the regular season he had a team best 3.48 ERA while posting a 4-1 record. Against Moose Jaw in game one he give up six hits and four earned runs while striking out eight and walking three.

Gregor Farquharson entered the game in the seventh and give up two runs on two hits, with one of the runs scored on a based loaded wild pitch.

Brandon Byler pitched the final inning for the 57s, giving up three runs off two hits including a three-run home run to Moose Jaw’s Cam Grant.

Killeen Voggesser picked up the pitching win for the Miller Express, giving up just two runs on six hits while collecting 10 strikeouts in six innings of work. The relief duo of Liam Sommer and Reece Helland recorded the final nine outs, giving up three hits while striking out a combined five hitters.

The potential series clinching contest starts at Mitchell Field at 7:05 p.m.

The winner of the Swift Current/Moose Jaw series will face the winner of the best of three series between the Regina Red Sox and Medicine Hat Mavericks. Medicine Hat (18-38) scored an upset 11-7 win in the opening game over the East Division regular season champion Regina (34-22).