Legionnaires hand out year-end awards

Hudson Darby (second from left) and Theo McGuire (centre) were named the co-recipients of the Swift Current Legionnaires Coaches’ Choice Award. STEVEN MAH SOUTHWEST BOOSTER

The Swift Current Home Hardware Legionnaires gathered on Tuesday to hand out their team awards and celebrate the 2022-23 season.

The Legionnaires had a resurgent season as they finished with a 25-15-4 record in fourth place in the Saskatchewan Male U18 AAA Hockey League standings. They were eliminated in five games by the Warman Wildcats in the opening round of the playoffs.

Captain  Hudson Darby was named the Most Valuable Player and was the co-recipient of the Coaches’ Choice Award. The Portland Winterhawks prospect finished the season with 16 goals and 18 assists in 32 games. He added two goals and three assists in five playoff outings.

Rookie Cobe Perlinger led the Legionnaires with 21 goals and 46 points in 42 games to win the Top Scorer Award and also took home the Most Game Stars Award.

Local defenseman Theo McGuire shared the Coaches’ Choice Award and was named the Players’ Choice Unsung Hero. The Swift Current product finished with four goals and 10 assists in 29 games before an injury cut his season short.

Complete award winners were as follows:

Rookie of the Year – Berney Weston

Top Defenseman – Jhett Lamb

Most Improved Player – Owen Latendresse

Scholastic Award – Keelan Mansuy

Most Game Stars – Cobe Perlinger

Top Scorer – Cobe Perlinger

Players Choice, Unsung Hero – Theo McGuire

Coaches’ Choice – Hudson Darby and Theo McGuire

Most Valuable Player – Hudson Darby