SWAC badminton athletes advance to Regionals

SWAC Badminton District Championship. PHOTO BY STEVEN MAH

The Southwest Athletic Conference announced its award recipients for 2021-22. Presentations will be arranged at schools in June.

Male coach – Dale Perry (SCCHS).

Female coach – Mandi Tuplin (SCCHS).

Official – Ken Garinger (volleyball official/mentor).

Junior Service – Dondalee Deis (Fox Valley).

Senior Service – Trish Carleton (Ponteix).


Senior badminton districts were held on Saturday, April 30 in Swift Current. We got through over 120 matches in just over six hours… it was a very busy day. Advancing to the Regional Championship in Moose Jaw on May 7 are:

Boys Singles: 1st – Navi Signh (SCCHS), 2nd – Micky Bradford (Cabri).

Girls Singles: 1st – Olivia Hudec (Fox Valley), 2nd – Shekina Cordero (SCCHS).

Boys Doubles: 1st – Harit and Hasit Desai (SCCHS), 2nd – Noah Busch / Ryan Hudec (Fox Valley).

Girls Doubles: 1st – Sierra Ross / Daniela Palaganas (Ponteix), 2nd – Haley Tumbach / Kelsey Klippert (Leader).

Mixed Doubles:  1st – Hailey Carlson / Connor Frohlich (SCCHS), 2nd – Dominic Ehnisz / Lexi Schnieder (Fox Valley).

SWAC hosted the junior sectional badminton championships in five different schools on Saturday. The top four qualifiers from Whitemud and Cypress Hills sections and the top two qualifiers from Rolling Hills “A” and Rolling Hills “B” sections advance to the SWAC Championship in Shaunavon. Junior districts take place on Saturday, May 7.

The pool winners or top advancers from each section are:

Cypress Hills:

Boys Singles: Nathan Wiseman (Hazlet), Brock Walkow (Maple Creek).

Girls Singles:  Nevaya Hellman (Fox Valley), Sierra Frey (Maple Creek).

Boys Doubles: David Cocks / Karter Ries (Leader), Aston O’Neill / Carson Williams (Maple Creek).

Girls Doubles: Charity Noval/Amy Smith (Maple Creek), Bridget Hudec / Gabrielle Bosch (Fox Valley).

Mixed Doubles: Brayden Baumann / Senna Garvan (Hazlet), Aydan Buss / Savannah Frey (Maple Creek).

Rolling Hills:

Boys Singles: “A” Ty Switzer (SC), Mitchell Friesen (SC), “B” Alexander Fraser (Wymark).

Girls Singles: “A” Aryn Thibault (SC), Mila Cairns (Waldeck), “B” Keira Tinant (Ponteix).

Boys Doubles: Shane Cornelson / Brady Simpson (SC), Darcy Wiebe / Maverick Friensen (Wymark).

Girls Doubles: Lila Atem / Haley Kirwin (Gull Lake), Melody Schwartz / Hannah Wiebe (Hodgeville).

Mixed Doubles: James Atkinson/Kelsey Exner (Herbert), Chase Riley/Marlee Sebo (Wymark).


Boys Singles: Justin Pearson (Eastend), Beau Barton (Eastend).

Girls Singles: Payton Carleton (Frontier), Kassie Gryde (Frontier).

Boys Doubles: Jordan Leismeister / Gavin Johnson (Consul), Kegan Richards / Keithan Smith (Shaunavon).

Girls Doubles: Larissa Babiak / Naomi Nelson (Frontier), Brooklyn Palmer / Kali Nelson (Frontier).

Mixed Doubles: John Lavina / Jennifer Middleton (Frontier), Shiloh Derdall / Korban Johnson (Consul).


All our qualifying track and field meets will be held in Swift Current. Blue Sectional meet is Tuesday, May 17 and White Section meet is Wednesday, May 18. 

The SWAC District meet will be on Wednesday, May 25.

The SHSAA Provincial Championship (gr 9-12) is Friday and Saturday, June 3-4 in Regina.

The Chinook School Division Sports Report is submitted by Val Gordon.