57’s announce 2019 WCBL schedule


The Swift Current 57’s recently unveiled their 2019 regular season schedule in the newly rebranded Western Canadian Baseball League.

The 57’s will open the regular season on May 29 when they host the Weyburn Beavers. The regular season concludes on August 6 against the Regina Red Sox.

The most noticeable changes in the WCBL will be the 56-game regular season, an increase of eight games from 2018, and a switch to best-of-three playoff series, a decrease from the five-game series in the past.

The 57’s, led by Joe Carnahan, finished second in the Western Major Baseball League’s Eastern Division with a 28-20 record in 2018 before being eliminated in the opening round of the playoffs by the Regina Red Sox in four games.

The 57’s had previously won WMBL championships in 2016 and 2017 under Carnahan.

The 2019 WCBL season will also feature an all-star game in Edmonton on July 8.

The WCBL will feature 12 teams, including six in Alberta and six in Saskatchewan. Mitchell Field, complete with a new clubhouse facility, will get Western Division visits from the Fort McMurray Giants, the Edmonton Prospects, and the defending league champion Medicine Hat Mavericks.

View the 57’s complete schedule here: http://swift57s.pointstreaksites.com/view/swift57s/schedule-printable