Gawdin wins second straight MVP award


The Swift Current Broncos handed out their year-end awards before and after their final game of the regular season on Saturday.

The awards were spread throughout the line-up, but it was captain Glenn Gawdin who led the way with three awards, including a repeat win as the team’s Most Valuable Player after leading the Broncos with 56 goals and 125 points.

“It is a huge honour,” said Gawdin. “Any time you can win that and kind of be acknowledged for your hard work it means a lot. We have a good team and a lot of guys had good seasons too. It could have easily went to those guys as well. But to win that it definitely feels nice.”

“I am maybe a little bit biased, but I think Glenn is the MVP of the league,” said Broncos head coach Manny Viveiros. “He was really good with our team when we had a lot of our guys away at the World Juniors. For the first part of the year we were a completely different team too. We didn’t have that secondary scoring throughout the first part of the season. He has been outstanding throughout the whole year. He can play any type of way you want to play. You want to play heavy, you want to play physical, or skilled, he can play it all. He’s been by far, in my opinion, our best player.”

Gawdin was also recognized as the Players Most Popular Player and won the Most Stars Awards ahead of Aleksi Heponiemi and Tyler Steenbergen.

The complete list of awards was as follows:

Pioneer Co-op Most Improved Player – Noah King

RBC Dominion Securities Chairman of the Boards – Beck Malenstyn

Charlotte Letkeman Memorial Award for Desire and Sportsmanship – Giorgio Estephan

Pattison Agriculture King of the Road – Alexi Heponiemi

Swift Sanitary Services Fans Most Popular Player – Tyler Steenbergen

Western Financial Group Players Most Popular Player – Glenn Gawdin

Most Stars Award – 1st – Glenn Gawdin, 2nd – Aleksi Heponiemi, 3rd – Tyler Steenbergen

Tom Ham Memorial Trophy, Top Defenseman – Colby Sissons

Trophy Towne Most Sportsmanlike Player – Artyom Minulin

Gordon May Memorial Trophy, Top Scholastic Achievement – Quinton Waitzner

Innovation Credit Union Coaches Choice Award – Max Patterson

Swift Current Hockey Hounds Humanitarian Award – MacKenzie Wight

MacBean Tessem Trophy, Top Scorer – Glenn Gawdin

Standard Motors Rookie of the Year – Joel Hofer

Warren’s Funeral Home Award for Leadership and Maturity – Matteo Gennaro

Julie Forst Memorial Award for Most Valuable Player – Glenn Gawdin