Johnson named SJHL Coach of the Year

Bracken’s Doug Johnson has been named the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Canalta Hotels Coach of the Year for a second straight season.

Johnson led the Nipawin Hawks to the top record in the SJHL with a 43-8-3-4 mark, which included a stretch of 30 games that the Hawks recorded at least one point from Nov. 10 to Feb. 17.

Johnson, who played much of his minor hockey in Swift Current with the Peewee Kinsmen Kings, the Bantam Rotary Raiders, and captained the Midget AAA Legionnaires, has been the Head Coach and General Manager of the Hawks since 2010. This is the third time he has been named the Coach of the Year.

The Hawks defeated the Flin Flon Bombers 4-1 in the second round of the playoffs and currently lead the best-of-seven semi-final series 3-1 over the Humboldt Broncos.

Johnson’s roster includes former Swift Current Broncos forward Brandon Arnold, who was second in team scoring with 60 points in 43 games. Former Swift Current Midget AAA Legionnaires Gage Misskey and Carter Doerksen also patrol the Hawks’ blueline.