Timberwolves win No Hit League

The Timberwolves won the Swift Current No Hit Hockey League championship this season. Pictured (L-R): back row Carson Hadden, Zac Nickel, Rhett Gross, Dusty Reamer, Mike Cooper, Jaxon Shotter, Gaige Calkins, Noah Schindel, Justin Wilkinson, Travis Rabe,Terry Lawrence and Sheldon Reinhart. Front row - Murray Froese, Austin Calkins, Kadin Yuzik, Stephen Billows, Taylor Sanderson and Tom Longworth. Missing - Kurtis Nickelson, Brent Siemens, Austin Klimm, Dustin Mathies, Clay Thierman and Ken Hess. SUBMITTED PHOTO

This past week the Swift Current No Hit Hockey League had its best of three games league finals between the Oilers and the Timberwolves.

The Timberwolves took game one. At the start of game two it was a defensive battle for the first period with the Timberwolves being ahead by one goal. After the Oilers tied the game early in the second period, the MVP of the playoffs, Tom Longworth, put an absolute display of goaltending on shutting, the Oilers down for the rest of the game. With Austin Calkins scoring the game-winning goal and Noah Schindel getting a hat-trick, the Timberwolves sealed the deal to win their first back-to-back championships.