Poulter leads Bronco awards winners


Goaltender Isaac Poulter and captain Jaxan Kaluski led the Swift Current Broncos when the team announced its annual awards on Friday.

Poulter was named the Team’s Most Popular Player, Humanitarian of the Year, Coaches Choice, and Most Valuable Player after his first season as a starting goaltender. The Winnipeg native led the Western Hockey League with 1,609 saves this season.

Kaluski, the Broncos overage captain, won the Chairman of the Boards, King of the Road, and Leadership and Maturity awards. He finished the season with 30 points in 44 games with the Broncos after starting the season with the Seattle Thunderbirds.

Local product Hendrik de Klerk was named the Rookie of the Year and also won the Scholastic Achievement Award. The rookie blueliner finished with 14 points in 59 games after being acquired from the Spokane Chiefs.

The complete list of awards winners was as follows:
Most Improved – Sam McGinley
Chairman of the Boards – Jaxan Kaluski
Desire and Sportsmanship – Hayden Ostir
King of the Road – Jaxan Kaluski
Fan’s Most Popular – Sergei Alkhimov
Team’s Most Popular Player – Isaac Poulter
Top Defenseman – Alex Moar
Most Sportsmanlike – Raphael Pelletier
Scholastic Achievement – Hendrik de Klerk
Coaches Award – Isaac Poulter
Humanitarian of the Year – Isaac Poulter
Top Scorer – D-Jay Jerome
Rookie of the Year – Hendrik de Klerk
Leadership and Maturity – Jaxan Kaluski
Most Valuable Player – Isaac Poulter.